How I Discovered MUDs

MUD gaming has been a passion of mine for almost as long as I can remember. When I got my first internet connection, dial-up on a 14.4 modem, MUDs provided my introduction to online gaming. In the many years since then, I have played just about every type of game you can think of, but I keep coming back to MUDs.

It actually all started with a pair of single player games, not MUDs. They were called “Adventure”, and “Arctic Adventure”. They came on a disk full of shareware games our dad had picked up for my sister and I. There were a lot of games on that disk with fancier graphics, but I played those two games more than any other games on the disk.

When we finally got our first internet connection, I started looking for other games like this, and I stumbled across a website called The MUD Connector, which still exists as of this writing. On this site I found hundreds of text-based adventure games that had all the features I loved from my single player text adventure games and more! Not only that, but I could play online with other real, live human beings. I was very excited to have the opportunity to have other people to talk to and share my adventures with. I clicked on an ad for a MUD called “Avalon”, and began crafting my online persona.

15 years have passed since I have discovered MUDs, and although I have often gone on to play other games, and pursue other interests, I keep coming back to them. I want to share my passion for MUD gaming, and help introduce a whole new generation to the hobby that I love.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: tbaMUD | Sword & Pen
  2. Pingback: Looking for a Good RP MUD | Sword & Pen
  3. Pingback: New Worlds Ateraan | Sword & Pen

Leave a Reply

