Looking for a Good RP MUD

Role-playing

Role-playing (Photo credit: mricon)

To work towards the goal of building my own MUD game, I have been looking for a good MUD that is similar to the style of play I am looking for.  Basically, I am looking for a MUD where roleplaying is required.  The MUD I play the most, Aardwolf, is a good MUD, and I have a lot of fun playing it, but it is not a MUD for roleplayers.  I am going to start going through the lists of MUDs on sites like Top MUD Sites, and The MUD Connector, and looking for an RP MUD.

There are a ton of roleplaying MUDs out there, some good, and some bad.  I find it difficult to put into words exactly what I am looking for in a roleplaying MUD, at least until I spend some time trying a few out and getting a feel for what I like, and what I don’t.  I know I want to be able to talk to other players in character, but I also want to have access to OOC chat channels and rooms.  I want to immerse myself in a good story, but I also want to have the freedom to go off and do my own thing.

As I try out a few of these MUDs, I will post my thoughts here at Sword & Pen.  These won’t be reviews as such, because I feel that you have to play a MUD for a considerable amount of time in order to be able to write a review that really can illustrate what to expect from any particular MUD.  Rather, it will be more like a journal of my own thoughts and experiences playing each MUD.

If you have an suggestions on MUDs to try that might meet my requirements, leave a comment.

8 comments

  1. Pingback: New Worlds Ateraan | Sword & Pen
  2. Pingback: Mythos | Sword & Pen
  3. Pingback: The Importance of the MUD Community | Sword & Pen
  4. Pingback: Planning | Sword & Pen
  5. Pingback: Aardwolf and MUSHclient | Sword & Pen
  6. Brenda Porter

    The best and most intense role play mud is Armageddon. Check out the website at Armageddon.org
    Armageddon is a HEAVILY modified DIKU mud with many special features that provide an immersive role play experience.

    • swordnpen

      Thanks for the tip Brenda! I was actually just looking at their website today. I have been reading over all the pages describing the towns and clans and other information. I love the rich and detailed amount of background info they have to help us newbies get a feel for the world. It can actually be a bit overwhelming. I want to jump in and start playing, but I feel like I have to read and remember all of this stuff. For now, I am trying to figure out just what I need to know as a new player starting out. I will put up a post about my experiences on Armageddon. Look for it soon!

      • Brenda Porter

        If you have any questions they have a player run on-line help chat that you access on the website. There is definitely a learning curve!

Leave a Reply

