The Importance of the MUD Community

Empire MUD Logo

Empire MUD Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Working on my MUD can get pretty lonely sometimes.  I am just one lonely guy, with no other builders or players, working on a MUD by myself.  I would love to go out to the boards, and start advertising for builders, but I would just be one voice amongst countless others begging for people to come build their MUD for them, and make no mistake about it, that is how most “builders wanted” ads for new MUDs that I see are perceived.  A lot of people on the boards advertising for builders come across as fly by night hacks that just expect a bunch of builders to come along and do all of their work for them.  Well, I’ve got news for you guys.  That’s not the way it works.   I don’t want to be so presumptuous.  I would rather build up my MUD own my own for a while,  hopefully to the point where I can attract a small, but loyal player base, and then hopefully I can get some folks in my player base involved as builders.  In my eyes, that’s the way it’s done.

All that being said, that doesn’t change the fact that it is still pretty lonely starting out, working all by myself, and trying to keep myself motivated.  I have a lot of work to do, and no one to share the burden.  I have no one to bounce ideas off of, and get meaningful feedback.  I have no one to offer me a few kind words of encouragement when I am not feeling particularly energetic or creative, and no one to appreciate my work.

This is why it is important to stay plugged into the MUD community, and not just get lost and isolated working on my own game.  That is why I try to read blogs about MUD gaming, and comment on those blogs, and why I try to stay active on the forums.  I try to contribute to the greater MUD community in a positive way, and be a responsible member of that community.  We are a small niche community,  and if you behave irresponsibly as a MUD implementor, word travels fast.  Everyone chats on the same forums.   So that I am not building my MUD in complete isolation, I have made it a point to appease the MUD clique so to speak, and in return, I have gained a valuable resource as I learn about building my MUD.

It never ceases to amaze me how some people just don’t get this.  They show up on the forums, out of nowhere, and right away start running their mouths and pissing everybody off, acting like they know everything.  All I’m saying is, I don’t want to be one of those guys.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Planning | Sword & Pen
  2. Pingback: Aardwolf and MUSHclient | Sword & Pen
  3. Pingback: Sword & Pen MUD Launches This Week | Sword & Pen

Leave a Reply

